Presents from cats

This morning about 4:30 a.m., my male cat woke me up. He’s a very vocal feline so this wasn’t particularly unusual. However, he was fairly insistent; and when I got up to go to the bathroom, I recognized a particular type of play where he takes his toy in his mouth & throws it up in the air. So I turned on the light, and sure enough, there it was. A dead mouse. I disposed of it in the garbage (which goes out tonight, thank goodness!), but apparently he didn’t see me. He continued sniffing around the area where he’d been playing with it, wondering where his prize had gone

When he was little, I guess I praised him a little too much for bringing his toys to me. I thought I was teaching him to play fetch, but all I did was create an attention monster. Now if he wants my attention, he’ll bring me one of his toys. When he was younger, he’d wake me up in the middle of the night playing with his toys on the bed. I tried putting them in the drawer of my night stand, but the little bugger learned to open the drawer. So now I have to put them under my pillow if I want him to settle down.

One night I woke to the bed shaking. Sure enough, he was playing around with his toy. I groped around for it & found it, but it didn’t like one of his felt or furry mice. The fur felt smoother, even “silkier” than his toys; and I knew what it was before I turned on the light. He’d brought me a real mouse.

At least this one was dead. Several years ago, I was in bed reading before turning out the lights. Neiter one of my cats was in bed with me, which was highly unusual. Then I heard some small, odd noises coming from the bathroom. Sure enough, both cats were had a mouse that wasn’t quite dead yet. It was awful! I knew that the humane thing to do was kill the poor little thing, but I didn’t have to nerve. I ended up throwing out on the balconey, to die a slow, agonizing death. (Yes, I am just that big of a wuss.)

I’ve thought about brining in an exterminator, but it wouldn’t do any good. I live in a condo, and even if I got rid of the mice in my place, they’d just migrate in again from downstairs or next door. One of my neighbor’s says the condo company needs to exterminate not just all the buildings, but also all the land around the buildings. Since I doubt that will ever happen, I guess I’ll just have to live with getting a present once every couple years.

Leave a Reply

