Spring is sprung…

… the grass is riz,
I wonder where
the birdies is.

I love that little stupid little rhyme that heralds spring. I don’t ever remember a year where I’ve been so glad to leave winter behind. I don’t know why; it wasn’t a particularly hard winter. I think maybe I’m just be getting too old to worry about shoveling the car out of a snowbank. Oh, and the grand slip on the black ice didn’t help. My lower back is still a bit sore. And then there’s the sinus problems caused by the dry air and dry heat. But this year I kept a humidifier in my bedroom, and it seems to have worked wonders. I’ve had some pretty good nights sleep without waking up to a nose full of bloody snot mucus.

My, that was a lovely picture, wasn’t it? So let me leave you with something much more pleasant.

Last week, as I was heading out to the car to go to work, I heard some rustling in the bushes behind me. I figured it was a squirrel trying to find some food, but turned around anyway.  Two birds were fluttering about. One was very red, the other was not so red. In my glee, I uttered, “Aww, cardinals!” But apparently I disturbed their amourous revelry. The male flew back to the trees, and the female flew across the entry into the bushes. I can only hope they resumed their affair once I left them to the peace and quiet of the morning.

And yes, where there’s a new season, there’s a new theme. 🙂

Leave a Reply

