Thursday Thirteen: 13 things about me

Well, it’s a good thing I wrote the bulk of this post during the week and saved it. I just got home from work (busy, long day) and I realized I ought to post this. So, here are…

13 things about me that those who know me might not know

  1. I lived in only one house (until I went away to school). In other words, the house my parents lived in when I was born was the same house they were living in when my mother died 36 years later.
  2. I have a Master’s degree in audiology. What? Yeah, yeah.
  3. My first car was a blue Pontiac LeMans (the decent mid-size one, not the tin can it now is) with white interior.
  4. My friends in graduate school called my car “The Tank.”
  5. Since I didn’t know what I wanted to be when I grew up, I became a Navy officer.
  6. I could have gone into the Navy’s Medical Service Corp as an audiologist. The school was only a few weekslong and I would have been commissioned a LTJG (Lieutenant Junior Grade, O-2). However, I wanted to see if I could actually make it through 4 whole months of Officer Candidate School (OCS), and was commissioned as an Ensign (O-1). I did make it, but just barely. 🙂
  7. I lived in Italy for 2 years. It was a hard adjustment, but now I’m grateful for the experience. I have fond memories, the food was fabulous, and the wine was cheap & plentiful.
  8. I have a second cousin who rode in and actually finished the Tour de France. (His name is Andy Bishop, and I’ve never met him, but I knew who he was before I knew I was related to him.)
  9. I love ballroom dancing but refuse to watch Dancing with the Stars. It’s too flamboyant it’s not and the music (the couple times I’ve surfed over it) usually sucks.
  10. My best features are my eyes (large & very blue), my hands (until I scarred one with the chards of a broken shower door), and my legs (until I aged & got the little veiny thing).
  11. I have no intention of getting plastic surgery. I’ve decided that age is character and character IS beauty.
  12. I’m the world’s biggest procrastinator. I still have pictures to hang in my home… and I’ve lived there for nearly 20 years!
  13. All my pets have come from the animal shelter or a rescue league. And they’ve all been spade or neutered.

Well, that’s it for this week. Since it’s danged near 8 p.m., I think I better go eat some dinner.

Leave a Reply

