Fads and fads

You know, I don’t understand the fascination with Starbucks. The coffee is stupid expensive, and yet people go there every day to get their fix. At work, they sell the plain ol’ regular Starbucks coffee (no lattes or anything like that) and it’s quite popular, yet it’s more expensive than the regular stuff. And the regular stuff tastes better.

But yesterday I stopped into one to get a caffe mocha. I had to park on the street because the little parking lot was full. That’s ok, it was a nice day and I needed the little extra walk. Inside the store, the line was long, but it fairly quickly. Until they got to the woman in front of me. I don’t know what she wanted, but she took up a lot of the clerk’s time. In fact, by the time I was done paying, my coffee was up and getting cool. When I left, the parking lot was still full, but there were two cars idling, just waiting for someone to leave. Here’s the thing, the lot isn’t big enough to just sit. If a car is sitting in the middle, other cars can’t back out. Oh, and there’s another Starbucks about 3 blocks from this one (with an even worse parking lot.)

It just astounds me the hold that Starbucks has on people. I’m beginning to think someone needs to start be a Starbucks Anonymous.

Then, I went to a knitting shop to buy some yarn. With only one exception, everyone in the store was carrying a Vera Bradley handbag. Me included. I have several styles in different patterns sitting in my closet. And there are a few of the newer patterns and styles I’d like to have. And yet, I’m not really that big a fan of them. Whoever thought of the idea to bring out new patterns every 6 months, keep them around for a couple year, then “retire” them really thought up a marketers dream. And we all fall for it.

On another note, I went to the grocery store today, and I had a lot to buy. Before I left the house, I noticed the clock said 2:00 p.m. When I got back into the car to come home, it was 2:59. (And the clock in my car is fast!) What was my secret? I had a shopping list. I just went down the list, didn’t go down any extra aisles, and was done before I knew it. Of course, the fact that it was a beautiful and people were probably out enjoying it; there was no line to speak of at the check out.

Leave a Reply

