WordPress Treasure Hunt revisited: Item #1

I came up with a brilliant plan today. I was looking over my 2007 blogging goals and noticed the second one is to blog consistently, at least 5 times a week. I haven’t been very good about it, but I thought one of the ways I could ensure I post more often is to discuss something from the WordPress Treasure Hunt every Monday. I had said I’d go back to it regularly, which I haven’t since I finished it, but now if I plan on doing it every week, I’ll get thru’ what I want to. And I might even learn something in the process.

So, today we’ll start at the top of the list with “404.” I’d found a web page that showed you not only how to create a customized web page, but also have WordPress “guess” at what the user was really asking for, and provide a list of those posts. I might try that someday, but for now I think I’ll just look at making the 404 page resemble the rest of my website.

I’ve been working on creating a new theme for my Benjamin Bratt website. Rather than start from scratch, I decided to use the Falling theme (on the right), significantly changing the colors and a few other things. To help me along the way, I used the WordPress theme guide by Urban Giraffe. (I tried to link to the Graphic Dreams website, but it’s disappeared—one of the hazards of the online community.)

I’m almost done with my theme. (If you’d like to take a sneak peek at the theme, check it out.) I still have to format some of the pages, including the 404 page. But now that the grunt work (the main page and the single post page) is done, the rest should be a piece of cake. At least, that’s the way I’m reading it in the WordPress Theme Guide by John Godbey. (Yes, I bought his book. This tutorial is so good, I thought he deserved a little reward for it. Besides, it’s nice to have something to look at away from the computer.)

Leave a Reply

