My year in review

I’m borrowing this little exercise from my LiveJournal blog. I don’t duplicate posts, so this one will be different. And even though I haven’t posted very often, I do have at least one post from each month. The idea is to post the first couple sentences from the first post of the month. And then, I’ll comment on it (in italics).

January: The post is titled “Happy New Year.” Ok, so I’m a day late. What do you expect from a world class procrastinator? Procrastination is still a problem, but lately I’ve actually been not waiting until the last minute. Go me!

February: So, how’s my progress with my 2007 blogging goals? Really great! It didn’t last. But, I did finish the WordPress Treasure Hunt. And on time!

March: I’ve managed to fall about 3 days behind my blogging & treasure hunt schedule this week. First of all, I didn’t spend much time online on March 1, since it was my favorite day on QVC. (Big Bonanza Silver Day.) See how obsessed I am with the blog thing? And I did buy a few things on March 1, but I didn’t break the bank like some years.*

April: Titled “Thursday Thirteen: 13 things about me.” Well, it’s a good thing I wrote the bulk of this post during the week and saved it. I just got home from work (busy, long day) and I realized I ought to post this. I found Thursday Thirteen thing from Nuj, aka Natalie. I’ve done it off & on throughout the year, but I haven’t yet joined to official site. See, procrastination does still rear its ugly head.

May: It must be the May 2. It’s my best friend’s anniversary. They picked that date because the first weekend in May is the prettiest weekend of the year, with the dogwoods and azaleas in all their beautiful glory. Sadly, I don’t call her my “best” friend any more. Not because of a big fight; I just finally realized she’s never there for me when I need her.

June: I spent a good deal of time yesterday afternoon reading some of the news articles about the block of recreational web sites that the Department of Defense put in effect a couple weeks ago. In case you haven’t heard about it, DoD has now denied personnel on the DoD network from accessing such sites as YouTube, My Space, Photobucket, Stupid Videos, and a few others that I’d never heard of. I love this post. I put a lot of thought & work into it. I rant about how the press skews things and Congress is influenced by big business. And how much I respect the Service members serving in Iraq. I don’t support the military being there, but the general public has absolutely no idea the hardships these Americans experience.

July: I have been remiss not only in updating my blog, but also in furthering my blogging education. Finally this weekend, I went back to read my favorite blogstress, Lorelle on WordPress, and boy, have I missed a bunch! Lorelle is my blogging guru. I’ve learned so much from her. I love her. 🙂

August: Guess I better answer this challenge before Lorelle comes out with her next Blog Challenge tomorrow. ;) See? Again with Lorelle!

So, what is my passion? I’m still searching for it. I know what my obsessions are, and I think I know what my passion is. But I haven’t acted on it yet.September: Thank you, nuj! I now have my very own Supernatural Season 3 countdown ticker, aka, cute sidebar thingie. Except mine isn’t in my sidebar. :) Of course, the countdown thingie is marking the time since the season premiere. Maybe I should change it to the next new episode, since we’ve had reruns for the past couple week.

October: I’ve fallen asleep on the sofa more times in the last 2 days than I have in the previous 20 years.

I had my first experience with general anesthesia on Monday, and it was probably the thing I was most nervous about going in for septoplasty, i.e., surgery to fix my deviated septum and improve my sinuses. I cannot believe how much this surgery has helped! I sleep better, breathe better, and I haven’t used Vicks/Mentholatum (which I was using all summer, and at least every night for the past umpteen eyes) since the surgery. I had no pain to speak of, and was off the pain medication after two days. Fabulous!

November: I was going to wait until after the holidays to get my blogging schedule in order, but realized that’s my own mode of perfectionism raising its head, preventing me from “just doing it.” Yay! Another breakthrough in my psyche! The difference between my mental state this year and last year is nearly unmeasurable. I have a ways to go, but it’s like trying to get off those last 10 pounds. It’s the hardest part.

December: One of my favorite memories of everyday life occurred many years ago. I was on my own for the first time, living in Rochester, NY. That doesn’t tell you anything about the post, but it sets up the scenario for remembering some of the small moments that stay with us forever.

3 thoughts on “My year in review

  1. Wow. What sweet words. And I needed to hear them. It means a lot to be so appreciated. And what an interesting year you’ve had. Wow. I’m sure there were wonderful posts to accompany each of your year’s “moments”. Good for you.

  2. Aw, you’re so welcome, Lorelle. As far as I’m concerned, you’re the best thing to happen to the internet. *virtual hugs*

    And Natalie, I actually read your Year in Review, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

