WP vs LJ

I’m in a rather crappy mood today. I think I may have reached my breaking point with the Supernatural fandom. Perhaps today will spur me to come to my senses and stop my crazy obsessing. But probably not.

I made a list of all the non-Supernatural web-related things I’d like to do, and it’s pretty extensive. If I’m ever going to get serious about designing a WordPress theme, keeping up the sites I already have, and creating new websites for cohorts, I need to stop hanging out at LiveJournal, “fangirling” about Supernatural and attempting to make cute, little icons.

The things I like about LJ are the friends list and the communities. I don’t know of anything comparable with WP. Sure, I can delineate the folks on my blogroll into certain categories, but where can I find an actual community that comes together to share a similar interest?

The other thing that concerns me is possibly losing touch with a couple of the “friends” I’ve made at LJ. One of the friends has followed me over here, so I’m not worried about her, but there are 2 other posters I really like, but they don’t seem to be interested in keeping in touch outside of LJ. But who knows. Maybe I’ll be able to lure them over here. If not, were they all that good of friends?

5 thoughts on “WP vs LJ

  1. I just spent a few minutes trying to figure out why I can’t reply to your TWoP response to my comment. LOL

    I sympathize with you, and am happy to follow you here because you are smart and funny and pithy even when it’s not about SPN. I shall miss the icons, tho.

  2. Well, you can respond here. Or, I can take the privacy setting off… which I will do just for you. ๐Ÿ™‚ You know, you even have your very own “custom friend filter, which is only you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh, I don’t think you’ll be missing any icons. I’m still making some and will most likely post them someplace. After all, I still need to make Dean with demon eyes. See, I haven’t forgotten you!

  3. Hey, there you are! It’s me, zanne68/86/whatever. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m glad you put a link over at LJ so I could find your blog here. Can’t get rid of me that easy, sister. :รพ

  4. Pingback: Stream of Conscience » Thursday Thirteen #8

Leave a Reply

