My new television love

It looks like I can add a new sub-category under “Couch Critic,” Terminator: the Sarah Connor Chronicles. But since that’s such a long title, I’ll just be calling it Terminator. Not to be confused with the (original) movie, of course. I’m pretty sure I mentioned this elsewhere on the blog (I did! I just found it), but “Terminator” (the original) is one of my all-time favorite movies. So I was really excited that we were getting a tv series. However, the series starts after “Terminator: Judgment Day” (or T-2), which is my least favorite and thus least watched of the T movies. I suppose I ought to join NetFlix so that I can order it.

I missed the series pilot, coming in on the second episode. But apparently Fox heard my pleas, because they rebroadcast the pilot the week before the Superbowl. So, now I have the “complete” series on my DVR, soon to be transferred to DVD.

I’ve been enjoying the show. I really like this Sarah. Lena Headey has a somewhat husky voice that’s great for the voice-overs. (Otherwise they probably wouldn’t work.) And Thomas Dekker is a very appealing John. Although there is talk on some boards that he’s too pretty for the role, I say, he should be pretty! Kyle Reese was his father, and he was quite pretty. (I’m also surprised to find out that I’m not the only one who had a major Kyle Reese crush in the day. Good to know.) And Summer Glau as Cameron, the robot/android/machine (I don’t really think I can call her a terminator, since that’s not her purpose) is not only awesome, but provides some great comic relief.

And while I’ve been enjoying the series, last night’s episode turned the corner. I loved it! It had some wonderful key plot twists (about 4 that I can think of) which I hope will be built on. Let’s see if I can name the twists: 1) the mysterious stranger turns out to be not only the 4th resistance fighter, but also 2) one of John’s best soldiers from the future (per Cameron), and 3) Kyle Reese’s brother (!!); 4) T-888 is terminated, and 5) Charlie now knows Sarah is alive. And the final twist? Who knew David Austin Green could actually act and be kind of menacing? ๐Ÿ˜‰

4 thoughts on “My new television love

  1. That’s so funny, I just posted about this!

    I was in high school when the first Terminator came out, and I TOTALLY loved Kyle Reese! So much that I followed him to other movies. ๐Ÿ™‚ Where’s he been, anyway? *scowl*

    I loved last night’s episode, too. I thought BAG was amazing, and I’m super-bummed that he’s only credited for one more episode. It better not mean he’s going to die!!!

  2. Yeah, I hope the other Reese boy doesn’t die. And thank you for not mentioning I screwed up the actresses name. I’d initially called her Leah Headly, but checked IMDB to find it’s “Headey.” Of course, I forgot to check the first name. *Doh!*

  3. Pingback: Stream of Conscience » Thursday Thirteen #9

Leave a Reply

