*heavy sigh*

And so, Supernatural goes out with a bang for the WGA strike-imposed hiatus. It’ll be gone for about 2 months. And then we get, what, 4 new episodes (or is it only 3) before the season end?

Yes, it was a worthy quasi-season ending show, but not without its flaws. At least in my mind. Sadly, the killing off of interesting guest characters has become much too predictable, especially when Sera Gamble writes the episode. It’s especially sad when I know Eric Kripke and company are capable of so much better story-telling.

But the bigger flaws for me were the beginning and the end.

Backstory: I was irritated when the show was said to be bringing on two new female “regulars. ” I was told they would be only recurring stars, and yet their names appear before the “guest star” credits, above such venerable favorites as Jim Beaver’s Bobby Singer and Samantha Ferris’ Ellen Harvelle (who, although being a fan favorite has been sorely missing from this season, due most likely to her “old” age of 40).

Most fans are warming up to Ruby. Not me. Granted, the character was somewhat interesting in her first few episodes, due mainly to the mystery surrounding her. But now that the mystery is over, where’s the interest? To bitch at the brothers, telling them what they’re doing wrong, scolding them like misbehaving 10-year-olds? And now that it’s been made clear that she has no plan to save Dean from his fate, what purpose does she have? She says it’s to get Sam ready to fight the coming war on his own. I think last week’s episode showed us that Sam will indeed be able to not only survive, but “thrive” in ridding the world of the bad guys. Yes, he’ll lose his humanity, but the world will become a safer place because of him. So now, what purpose is it exactly that Ruby has? None that I can think of.

I might be more willing to accept the character if it were placed in the hands of a better actress. Katie Cassidy seems to be incapable of playing anything beyond a one-note bitch with a raspy voice. Eric Kripke says she’s growing into the role, but the way I see it, the role is becoming more one-dimensional, probably because they’re writing to the actress’ “strengths.”

As for the Bela character, she just sets my teeth on edge. Supposedly the writers loved writing her, and can’t understand why the audience hasn’t accepted her. Well yeah, writing nasty characters is fun. You get to put in all those traits you wish you could show, but are just not really acceptable in real life. The problem is, she’s a “regular.” The audience knows they’re stuck with her week after week after week. They’ve made her such a selfish, conniving, smart-ass, I really don’t give a crap what her back story is. Lately, her appearances have seemed forced, and she’s been nothing more than a plot device. Such a character does nothing to enhance the show.

One of the posters at Television Without Pity (which I swore I’d stay away from, but just can’t seem to) said something I think bears repeating:

That? That’s called jumping the shark. It’s officially no longer the Winchester brothers show. Crap. Here I was defending the changes season to season, the evolution–but Bela at the end taking control? That just sucks. I’ve just really lost interest, though I’m sure I’ll keep watching.

I actually felt something similar. Not so much that the show had jumped the shark, but I had the very same feeling that if the show continues on its current path, I’ll most likely lose interest, and might even stop watching.

3 thoughts on “*heavy sigh*

  1. I’m not going to try to talk you out of your opinion. I couldn’t, any more than you could talk me out of mine. That doesn’t ever stop me, however, from voicing it. 🙂

    I agree with your assessment of Katie Cassidy in her first few scenes. She was one-note and overdramatic. Kind of like how I was when I tried to act. 🙂 And I was not enamored of her “character” when she was arrested and claimed to be someone else. But I did think she was improving. I saw more real emotion from her in the witch episode, and thought she felt more natural in this one. It’s possible her role was not well-thought-out enough and they are flailing about finding things for her to do. But I don’t think so. I think the fact that she seems useless and no longer a potential asset is the point, and there is somewhere for her to go. I’m interested enough to want to find out.

    What, specifically, was the part that was called shark-jumping? Remember, nameless-person-who-actually-made-the-comment, the term comes from an episode of Happy Days where Fonzie–in case he/she is too young to know who the hell Fonzie was, he was an ultracool cat in a leather jacket who never had to do anything because everyone did it for him, and he always had girls hanging on his arms, and he got the jukebox to start with a bang of his fist–anyway, Fonzie did a stunt where he jumped over a shark on waterskis. I don’t remember why, but it was widely known to be ridiculous and where a desperate show went completely off track. Nothing that has happened in SPN comes close, IMO.

    I said over in my own comments but I’ll repeat here–I don’t believe Henriksen is dead. 🙂

  2. Well, considering we “met” over our differing opinions of “Heart,” you are most welcome to voice your opinion. 🙂

    I think the person who made the shark jumping comment was trying to say that the show was beginning to go downhill, at least for him/her. I won’t go that far, but I did have thoughts after the show that if the tone of the show continues with where it left off, I might lose interest. I’m one of those people that when a show becomes too painful to watch (as General Hospital did), I turn it off, rather than sit around bitching about it.

    Of course, I’m not willing to do that yet. You’re right, the show is far from trying desperate losing its momentum. “Jus in Bello” was a great episode, just sandwiched in between a beginning and end that I didn’t like. 🙂

  3. I will agree the beginning and ending didn’t live up to the rest of the episode. For me, for this show, the goodness always elevates the badness, instead of the other way around. It’s not so for other shows, so I do empathize with your intentions.

    And thank you for being so sweet about my mouthing off on your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

