Thank goodness I have cable internet access

It’s been awhile, no? Yes? And forget the Thursday 13 thing. I think they’re going to throw me out any minute. It was a good idea for awhile, but this networking stuff is damn hard! Especially when 95% of the blogs I’m supposed to network with can’t be accessed.

Last night was kind of interesting. I picked up the phone to make a call, but couldn’t get a dial tone. I checked all the other phones in the house (all wireless) and none of them worked. So I went around checking all the phone connections. All were ok, but the phones still didn’t work. Oh my God! How was I going to order pizza?!?!? Thanks goodness the cell phone was charged. 😀 I then tried to call home from the cell phone, but got a busy signal. Did that a couple of times, then misplaced the cell phone. Doh! And how could I call the cell phone and have it ring when I didn’t have a telephone line in the house?? Oh technology, you are a cruel mistress.

I ended up pulling out every single phone and the answering machine and unplugging them. At some point in the night I woke up and remembered I actually still had a wired phone. I’d long ago turned off the ringer and it’s kind of hidden in a far corner of the kitchen, so it’s easy to forget. Hmm, maybe the cleaning ladies accidentally knocked the receiver off the hook when they were there on Wed. No, I did not get up in the middle of the night to check it out. I’m not that desperate. But I did check it out this morning. The receiver was firmly in place, and I had a dial tone.

So I went about the house plugging the phones in one by one and checking them. I think the culprit might have been my old answering machine. I decided to keep things simple and leave it unplugged. And once I got the integrated phone system answering machine set up, I chucked the old one in the trash can. I figure it’s about 20 years old, and it’s had a good life. Time to move on.

I think I’ll head to the library this afternoon to see if I can check out Michael Critchton’s The Andromeda Strain. Why? Because.

Leave a Reply

