6 things you probably never wanted to know

Way the frig back in mid-May, Natalie tagged me with a meme and I just now found it. (Well, actually I’d seen it but didn’t do anything, being all consumed with making icons for LiveJournal.) Having been without a computer for a week and not having my graphics loaded on my new computer, I found the tag again. Well, hey, it’s less than one month old. That’s pretty good for a procrastinator like me!

The rules say I’m supposed to tag six other people at the end of the meme, but since I don’t know six people, I may have to skip it. Or, I can always tag some of my LiveJournal friends. (I think I have more than 6 now.) 😀

The rules:

a. Link to the person who tagged you.
b. Post the rules on your blog.
c. Write six random things about yourself.
d. Tag six random people at the end of your post by linking to their blogs.
e. Let each person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment at their blog.
f. Let your tagger know when your entry is up.

And since I am not particularly original, I might just follow Natalie’s lead.

  1. I had never broken a bone until January 7, 2008, when I fell down the stairs at work. The good news I got to take 2 weeks off work. The bad news is I live on the top floor of a walk-up condo. So once I got myself up the stairs, I never went down them (until I saw the doctor 1½ weeks later when he put me in a boot). About 20 years ago I severely sprained my ankle on the same leg, tripping on a stair. I can definitely say that a sprain is indeed more painful than a break.
  2. I was an officer in the Navy for eight years. I stayed in the Reserves for about 4 more years, but then stopped “drilling.” The Navy eventually discharged me because I hadn’t kept up with my paperwork and training. I’m beginning to think leaving the Navy was the 2nd worst professional mistake I ever made. (The first one being transferring to the organization I currently work for.)
  3. It only took me 45 years to decide what I want to be when I grow up—a web designer. I even took some classes to become certified (and am certified). But this was in the early 2000’s and web development has changed enormously since then, and I haven’t kept up. Plus, graphic design and creativity is really, really hard for me.
  4. I suffer from severe depression and a mild mood disorder. The good great news is that the treatment I’ve received in the last few years has worked wonderfully, and I now feel better than I have in years ever.
  5. My last 2 cars were bought used. The current one is a 2000 Lexus and the previous one was a 1997 Chrysler Sebring convertible (which I bought in 1999). I’d always wanted a convertible, ever since I was 8 years old, and I finally got my dream. But it turned out I almost never put the top down. The summers were too hot and even with sunglasses, the sun bothered my eyes. I tried to wear hats, but the only ones that would stay on in the breeze were baseball caps.
  6. I had a heart attack in 2000 and have a stent in one of my major arteries (the LAD, except I can’t remember what it stands for). That’s the first and only time I’ve ever been hospitalized. I had high cholesterol (which I could have controlled with diet, but didn’t) and was going through perimenopause at the time (much too early, in my opinion!). I knew my bad habits would catch up to me eventually. I just didn’t think it’d be so soon. The bad news is my habits still aren’t very good (coping mechanism for #4 above), but the good news is my heart is functioning normally, and I’ve just started to turn my bad eating habits around.

So, that’s me in a nutshell. Ok, it’s a really BIG nutshell.

And, now I shall tag hanncoll, zanne68, jade_kadir, janglyjewels, just_ruth, and the_other_sandy, all from LJ.

2 thoughts on “6 things you probably never wanted to know

  1. Cool, thanks for participating! I love learning more about you!

    Interesting about the convertible. I want one (Mustang, but I do like the Sebring, it’s the only Chrysler I’d ever remotely consider owning), but I’ve always wondered if it would be worth it. I have long hair, now pretty thin which means it doesn’t stay contained easily. So you’ve kind of answered that for me.

    #6 is scary. Sounds like it could be me in a few years. I have no risk factors except my weight and my cholesterol…

Leave a Reply

