The smartest man in Washington

The smartest man in Washington, DC died on Friday. I was driving home from work when the radio announcer (I listen to the local news station these days) said that Washington had lost one its key news reporters. I figured it was someone well-known, but hadn’t been around in awhile. Then they said it was Tim Russert! Of course I was shocked, as was everyone. I didn’t think he’d been ill, and he certainly wasn’t that old.

I’m not a news junkie. About the only time I listen to the news is driving to work & back. That’s about all I can take. (And even then it’s sometimes difficult when the announcers are interviewing someone and start to get argumentative. It’s part of my personality that I hate confrontation. My Myers-Briggs profile even says so.) But in recent years I’d learned that I could make good, informed decisions on various issues by listening to Tim Russert. I knew that I’d not only have all the facts, I knew the information would be unbiased.

Although I knew who Tim Russert was, I never paid that much attention to him until the 2000 (fiasco of a) Presidential election. Here was the guy who’d said the results would all come down to Florida. I figured I should start listening to someone who understood the election down to that level of detail. And when I began listening to him in earnest, I found him to be totally unbiased, looking at all angles of the situation, giving me the information I needed to make up my own mind.

Oh, and his white board with “Florida, Florida, Florida” written on it is in the Smithsonian Museum.

One thought on “The smartest man in Washington

Leave a Reply

