Thanks for the memories, Ben

I decided to let go of my Benjamin Bratt website. This is a big decision. I’ve maintained the website in one form or another since 1996. In the early years, it was hard to create pages for the site because there was so little published about him. I created a page of “Bratt Stats” that gave all sorts of silly, useless statistics about his movies and shows. I paid some crazy price for an old Playboy just to get a photo of him (the magazine had done a fashion shoot featuring stars of tv shows, including Law & Order). Eventually I created a bulletin board (very simple, not like today’s multiple topic forums) that became quite lively. I was the authority on Benjamin Bratt. I received e-mails from his high school classmates, from reporters who wanted my help, and from people who’d encountered him in real life—the most interesting of which was one of the very first public encounters of Ben with Julia Roberts.

But in the past several years my interest has waned. I no longer rush out to see a Benjamin Bratt movie. In fact, I haven’t even yet seen “Love in the Time of Cholera.” I don’t track his television appearances. And I’ve been very, very bad about updating the blog site with info or pictures. So I decided it was time to turn in the towel.

There were times in the past when I thought about giving the site up, but the thought of someone taking over “my baby” was unbearable.  Even though I wasn’t keeping up the site, I didn’t want anyone else messing with it.  But now I’m ok.  I’m in the process of transferring the domain name benbratt.com, and I’m sure it’s in good hands.

I’ll be sticking around the fandom and visiting the new website.  I’m really excited about Ben’s new tv series on A&E, The Cleaner.  Although the title of the show is less than stellar, and the premise didn’t thrill me, the show and Benjamin Bratt have gotten some excellent reviews  and from the little ads I’ve seen for it, it looks interesting.

2 thoughts on “Thanks for the memories, Ben

Leave a Reply

