What a craptastic day

Ever have one of those days where nothing seems to go right?  Ever have it on the exact day when you want to really make a change in your life?  Yep, that’s today.

I had mentioned my desire to start my Pack Brat chronicles, but the website is not cooperating.  I think it’s going to require some drastic measures (like deleting it all and starting over again), so until I get it fixed, I’ll post my chronicles here.  I tried block-quoting some of the Pack Brat entries yesterday, but you can see from the picture on the right how crappy that turned out with the current theme.  So now I need to go in search of a new theme.  But that will have to come later.

One of the routines I want to get back into the habit of is handling financial paperwork for 15 minutes on Saturday morning.  So this morning I went to pay bills.  That wasn’t too much of a problem until I wanted to look up my purchases from QVC.  Now, for some reason, I can’t log into my account.  And yes, my sign-in and PIN are accurate.  I checked.  Several times.

I wanted to take my iPod with me on my way to my first appointment, out near Dulles Airport.  But my iPod has been acting strangely since I connected it to my new computer.  Consequently, I wasn’t able to recharge or resynch it prior to departure.  (But earlier this afternoon I was able to reset it, and it has synched and charged, so I’m hoping the worst is over.)

I had 2 hours between the end of my first appointment and the start of my second.  I’d spotted a Silver Diner on the way to appt. #1, so I stopped there for lunch.  I kind of had my heart on a burger & chocolate milkshake, but they were serving brunch.  So I had eggs Benedict, which turned out to be quite good.

Since my second appointment was not too far from home, I had to head back to a different part of Alexandria.  I used my GPS, but it doesn’t always give me what I would consider the best route.  Plus, it was raining buckets.  When I left the Silver Diner, I was scheduled to arrive about 10 minutes prior to my appointment.  But the GPS took me through town, meaning long stoplights and waiting for people to make left-hand turns.  I ended up getting there 10 minutes past my appointment.  And you know what else really frustrates me with the GPS?  The month after I bought it they came out with a better version (text-to-speech) for a lower price.

And finally, when I was ready to come home, someone was having their car towed and was blocking the way out of the parking lot.  Fortunately, I had my book The Lovely Bones with me, so I sat in the car reading, until another customer came out and beeped at the tow truck to move.  (Gosh, why hadn’t I thought of that?)

The moral of this story is that it’s never an ideal time to turn over a new leaf.  There’s always going to be something that goes wrong, if not the 1st or 2nd day, then sometime thereafter.  I’m glad I didn’t just throw in the towel and say “Screw it.”  I did get my 15 minutes of picking up around the house done, and now I’m debating on whether to have spaghetti with clam sauce or spaghetti-cheese-almondine for dinner.  It’ll probably be whichever is easier.

One thought on “What a craptastic day

  1. Pingback: Stream of Conscience » Blog Archive » My beginner baby steps

Leave a Reply

