‘Tis the sea-son to be ea-ting

Falala lala lala la la.

OMG!  I weighed myself Monday morning and I’m at an all time high.  Well, actually I’d hit the weight when I’d seen my doctor in November, but this time it was without the “benefit” of heavy jeans.  Ack!

Back on Columbus Day, I realized that if I’d lost just 10 pounds per year since my heart attack (less than one pound per month!), I’d be 80 lbs lighter.  Well, no, not really; because once I lost 50-60 lbs—maybe 65 max—I’d be at my right weight.

After the doctor’s visit, I was ready to get down to business: plan meals, take my lunch to work instead of eating out, walk, etc., etc.  But obviously that didn’t happen.  I’d like to say that yesterday’s weigh-in was the real eye-opener.  But I have to be realistic.  This is a tough time of year.  Not just because people are baking cookies and making fudge; but trying to start good habits during times of stress is never good.

And things are stressful right now.  Not just with the holidays, but work is pretty high-tempo, too.  I’m already beginning to feel like this is one of those Decembers I just have to try to “get through.”  Forget about cards and baking and parties and all the rest.  Just survive.

Now is not the time to be trying to losing weight.  But I still don’t want to put my life on hold for an entire  month.  The best thing I can probably do is try to make one or two small changes, and at least try not to gain any weight.  Even if that means buying only ½ of a pecan pie instead of the whole one.  😦

3 thoughts on “‘Tis the sea-son to be ea-ting

  1. Ha, you have all my sympathy, Gail. I had a weight scare a year ago, almost to the day. I love cooking and I have a sweet tooth, so my weight has always had its ups and downs, but it usually they were within the 10 pounds, but last December I realized I was about 40 pounds overweight.

    At the time, I deemed it impossible to start a diet right then and I put it off to January. I managed to lose 45 pounds in the next 10 months, it was hard though.

  2. Frances, that is fabulous! Well, not that you gained 40 pounds, but that you lost 45! You’re from Italy, right? I lived in Italy (Naples) for 2 years (I was stationed there when I was in the Navy) and I love Italian food. But I too have a sweet tooth, and I really need to cut back on sugar. (You’ll read more about this later.)

  3. Pingback: Awesomeness « Stream of Conscience II

Leave a Reply

