Crisis averted, I guess

When I looked at my blog earlier today (at work), I couldn’t find yesterday’s post.  I was sure I’d “published” it.  But then I remembered seeing the word “Private” somewhere, so I figured I’d find the post once I logged into WordPress.  But nope.  Wasn’t there.  Man, it was an added frustration to an already frustrating day.  So I took out my frustration by starting my blog post for today, even though my NaBloPoMo record was ruined for December.  To wit:

I was already in the mega-swear mode with work, and I find that the post I wrote last night (and published!) is nowhere in sight.  Does this mean my NaBloPoMo for December is all fucked up?  Well, fuck!  I guess that’s what I get for waiting until I got home to write it, being tired, and not doing a very good job of it.

The post was really fragmented and didn’t flow very well.  So I left it, had dinner, and came back.  I finished it (although it still wasn’t great, and I totally forgot part of what I’d wanted to say) and I know I hit the “Publish” button.  (And even if I didn’t, it’d still be saved as a draft, but it’s nowhere that I can find it.)

But I just got home, check the blog, and voila, there is.  It was marked “Private.”  But don’t ask me why I couldn’t see it when I logged in from work.

As for the part I forgot yesterday; this is so embarrassing, but thankfully nobody saw me.  Or at least no men saw me.

On Monday I wore a dress to work, mainly because I had limited clean trouser socks/nylons to wear with pants for the week.  And since it was a dress, I put on one of my half-slips.  About mid-morning, I got up to get something from the printer, and on my way, the slip fell completely down around my ankles.  One of the men was in front of me, but had his back to me, and no one was in back.  I quickly reach down to pick it up, struggled a little bit with it, all the while hoping the guy in front never turned around.  He didn’t, thank goodness.  And thankfully the dress material was thick enough, it didn’t really need a slip.  (It’s just a habit I have.)

So, why did the slip fall down?  And what does that have to do with my weight?  Well, it could be that my belly is so large, I stretched the elastic to where it was wider than my hips.  Or perhaps it’s that the slip is over 20 years old, and the elastic has just naturally dried out.  Yep, that’s the reason I’m going with. 😉

3 thoughts on “Crisis averted, I guess

  1. I automatically assumed it was bad elastic! Of the dried variety. 🙂 Glad no one saw it!

    Fallen slip? That’s nothin’!

    When I was in college, I went to a v. fancy restaurant with my then-boyfriend before the holiday ball, so I was wearing a v. shiny cocktail dress and four-inch heels. I have never been a drinker, so the really slow service (i.e. late serving dinner) and half a bottle of wine made me tipsy. I went upstairs to the bathroom, came back down, crossed the lobby and the entire main room of the dining area (old Victorian house) and paused as a woman in the corner complimented either my dress or my hair. I really, really hope I sidestepped or backed up to my chair, because when I went to smooth my skirt to sit, I found the ENTIRE back of it tucked into my pantyhose.

  2. I don’t know which shocks me more. Having your dress tucked into your pantyhose or you in four inch heels! Ha! (And yes, I am laughing at your misfortune.) 😀

  3. Heee. You know me pretty well! I haven’t worn heels in about a decade, the only exception being the awards ceremony at the Romance Writers of America conference!

    You are supposed to laugh at my misfortune, so that’s okay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

