Lemons and lemonade

I feel like I have a little black cloud hanging over my head.  So much about work today pissed me off.  People passing off their responsibilities, people asking stupid questions when they should be thinking for themselves, equal people not getting equitable treatment, and getting bitched at.

And yet, it’s not all bad.  I received Lorelle‘s Blogging Tips (which reminds me I need to order The Christmas Cottage (or whatever the heck Jared Padalecki’s movie is called).  I don’t know whether I should be disappointed that I didn’t get an autographed copy or not.  On the one hand, it would have been cool.  But on the other,  it means it’s been popular.  Of course, it doesn’t help that the book is a couple years old and it’s taken me this long to order the darned thing.  But either way, I’ll have fun reading material tonight.

It’s interesting, I don’t like reading books about telecommunications or information systems, but I’ll gobble up books dealing with the web design and blogging.  That’s when I realized I wanted to be a web designer when I grew.  (And all this time I thought it was an actress. )  But, after many years of struggling with it, I came to the realization that I’m just not that creative.  Oh well.

2 thoughts on “Lemons and lemonade

  1. I’m sure Lorelle’s book will make for an interesting read. I often head for her blog and there is always something to learn from what she writes. I understand, though, how nice it would have been if she had signed it; I remember how happy I felt when I received a copy of a novel by a lady I know and discovered that she had autographed it (and consider that she is an acquaintance more than a real friend). However, I guess Lorelle is very busy.

    BTW, I’ve never really been into books about telecommunications or IT, but I’m now fond of reading about blogging and forums.

    As for your becoming a web designer, I think you can do well at it. My brother – who is a web designer – says that his job is about understanding what his clients want rather than creativity and advising them starting from their ideas about the contents and look of the site they are asking him to design.

  2. Glad you got the book, and sorry. I stopped autographing them a while ago – but bring it to one of the many WordCamp events or other blogging events where I’ll be and I’d love to autograph it! 😀

    The book is timeless in many ways, as blogging hasn’t changed much in the many years I’ve been doing it. The basics are the same.

    Let me know if there is something I can do to help you, but it looks like you are off on the right path.

    As for becoming a web designer, you would be entering a flooded field, so why not find some other way of making a difference online – beyond what everyone else is doing. Be you. That’s pretty darn special. 😀

Leave a Reply

