2008 in a nutshell

2008:  the year I single-handedly helped the economy—but obviously not enough.

It was also the year I experienced my first ever broken bone and had a foot punch a hole in my ceiling.

The year started off with a whiz-bang.  Well, more like a oof-bang.  On the first Monday of 2008, I fell down the steps at work and fractured a bone in my foot.  It’s the same leg I’d severely sprained about 20 years ago, and now I can truthfully say that a sprain does indeed hurt worse than a break.

Nothing much else happened this year that I can remember.  Except that I bought a new computer (the old one crashed… hard), and a new HD television (so that I could enjoy the season premiere of Supernatural in its full glory after having  suffered through the longest summer hiatus since the beginning of television.  (Do I love this show?  You bet!  If you’re not watching Supernatural, you should be!)

I finished up the year by buying a new car.  I’ve been trying to clear out the clutter in my home and found I really need the room an SUV provides.  So, after some good research (thank  you Consumer Reports online), I bought a Subaru Forester.  But as I was driving it off the lot, I felt I’d made a horrible decision.  I’ve always had a certain dislike of SUVs and mini-vans; and it drives so much differently than my (used) Lexus did.  But now that that I’m getting used to it (and loading up the back), I’m quite pleased.

Oh, about that hole in the ceiling.  Our condo building started having its roof replaced this fall.  (It’s expected to continue until February.  I just love the smell of tar in the morning.)  My section was the first they did and is completely done now.  But on the first day of work, one of the roofers fell through a hole in the roof and didn’t stop until he’d gone all the way through my ceiling.  Fortunately, no one was hurt, and the roofing company paid for the damage.  The contractor that did the repair did a fabulous job, so I’m keeping their number for other building fix-ups I may have.

Other than that, the cats and I are the same (Gigi is still a sweetheart, Kimmi a timid mouse, and Shadow an annoying… well, an annoying shadow), except another year older.

I always feel a little hypocritical when writing these summaries about me and then ending it with just a sentence of “I hope all is well with you.”  But I do (hope all is well with you), and this format gives you a wonderful (and easy) way to reply.  So, if you do stop by to read (even if it’s in August), you’re welcome to write a reply.  (Thank you, Web 2.0!)  I’d love to know what you’re up to, and get your e-mail address in the process.  (And if you’re not tired of reading about me yet, you can check out my 2007 year in review as well.)   🙂

8 thoughts on “2008 in a nutshell

  1. One of my new year’s resolutions last year was to lose 40 pounds and I actually lost 45, so this is an accomplishment I am proud of.

    My contribution to economy was to buy a 36″ LCD tv. I considered the idea of buying larger one, but then I thought I would have had to re-arrange my sitting room to accommodate it and I wasn’t willing to do it. Besides, I thought that it was not worthwhile to shed more money than I have actually spent to watch movies on tv as if I were in the first row in a theater. Another contribution to economy is still a project at the moment, but I’m definitely buying a new laptop computer soon.

    Something that came unplanned was taking over your Benjamin Bratt site, Gail, though I’ve been enjoying Benjamin Bratt’s movies and tv series since well before this year, and I’m loving running the site.

    I consider myself lucky I still have a job in a period where so many people are losing theirs.

    What else? I’m still living with my two naughty cats and enjoying the company of my 3-year-old nephew and 1-year-old niece when I’m with them.

    I’ll leave you with a quote that I love… “Every journey brings its own surprises: a challenge, a sudden detour, a new set of friends along the way, perhaps even a destination different from the one you intended.” (Loreena McKennitt)

  2. Ah, it seems that my year 2008 decided to leave with a thrill. Yesterday afternoon, there was a major earthquake where I live, followed by 4 aftershocks that one could feel and get scared by.

  3. Francesca, congratulations on losing the weight! That’s a major accomplishment and I’m sure you feel so much better. It shows that you love running the website—it’s beautiful and so well maintained.

    I hope you’re all ok after the earthquake. I experienced my very first earthquake while stationed in Italy. I’ll have to tell the story of it sometime.

    And Natalie, so far, so good for the year winding down without incident. (Unless you live near Francesca. I believe she lives in Italy, but I don’t know where.)

  4. In fact, I live in Italy. My home town – Reggio Emilia – is halfway between Milan and Florence (about 100 miles from both cities).

    I don’t know when you were stationed in Italy, but an earthquake measuring 6.8 or 6.9 on the Richter Scale hit the region where Naples is in November 1980 and it was felt in the city of Naples, too.

  5. My goodness, what a memory you have! It was November 1980! (I was there from summer 1980-summer 1982). And yep, it was felt in Naples.

  6. My, what an amazing memory you have! That is indeed the earthquake I was speaking of. I lived in Italy from summer 1980-summer 1982. Perhaps it’s time to tell the story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

