Who loses weight in December?

That would be me! Of course, it helps if you start the month off at your highest weight ever. I never weighed myself consistently this month, but every once in awhile I’d step on the scales. I continued to drop pounds as the month progressed until last week. By that point I decided I had enough food in the frig (from my previous adventures in cooking) that I didn’t need to do any more planning, shopping and cooking. I’m not sure if that was a good idea or not.

Since I had some pesto sauce in the frig (from a pesto salmon recipe I’d tried), I decided to enjoy some pasta with pesto. The spaghetti was yummy, but certainly filling. Then, to add insult to injury, I baked one of the pecan pies I’d planned to make for Christmas dinner with friends (which I ended up not having). So of course I had to have a couple pieces of pie every night.

The number on the scales increased a few pounds in the final few days, but I still lost (more than) one pound this month.  But now that the holidays are over, it’s time to get back into the groove.

I must now bid adieu to the Five Ingredients/15 Minutes cookbook.  My initial plan was to use the American Heart Association Cookbook, but because it’s so large, I found myself a little overwhelmed by it.  So instead I’ll be using Saving Dinner, the Low-Carb Way. The cookbook is by Leanne Ely, a nutritionist I found through Flylady.  I’ll talk more about the cookbook and the Saving Dinner website at Stream of Consciousness throughout the month of January.

Oh, and Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Who loses weight in December?

  1. I think it is positive that still lost some weight in December in spite of some treats in its final days. Actually, I’ve always considered it a very good result if I managed to survive December without gaining weight, as the occasions when you end up indulging in eating too much tend to be too frequent.

    I’m looking forward to your posts about the cookbook.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

