Of blog and blood

Amazing Grace theme for WordPress, as it appears here

Amazing Grace theme for WordPress, as it appeared at gailoverholt.com

I’m anxious to see some of the supposed features of the theme I’m currently using here in action.  (And just so I’d have a reference should I change themes again [which I inevitably will] I made a screenshot of it.)  One new feature I’m excited about is “threaded comments,” but so far the current theme at Sci Fi Chicks hasn’t given me this capability.  So I may have to bite the bullet and load this new theme there anyway.  I wonder how the other Chicks will feel about that.

I started a Facebook account and a Twitter account this week.  Truthfully, I don’t get  the whole social networking hype.  But then, I’m old a baby boomer.  I only created the accounts to try to draw traffic to Sci Fi Chicks.  Now I have to figure out how to find people who’d be interested in the site.

Exciting times yesterday.  It was the birthday of 3 of my favorite people, but I’ll discuss that some other time.  Instead, I’ll just whine about my trip to the emergency room last night.  For no apparent reason, my upper lip started to bleed.  It was just a little pin-prick of a cut, but day-yum! it bled like gangbusters.  By the time it took me to change out the blood-soaked tissue for a new one, the blood ran down my chin and splattered onto my (white, of course) sweater.  I got rather worried when it wouldn’t abate, so drove myself to the ER (one-handedly).  But by the time I’d checked in and moved my car, it finally started to settle down.  So I came home.  I now have a little scab on my lip, which actually hurts more than the cut itself did.

4 thoughts on “Of blog and blood

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the cut on your lip. Gosh, it must be painful and I hope it will recover soon.

    I like this new theme.

    Unfortunately, many theme designers have not made their themes WP 2.7 compatible, so though most will still work, only few of the thousands of themes available actually support the new features WP 2.7 offers. However, there are tutorials on how to tweak themes and make them WP 2.7 compatible on the WordPress Codex. Honestly, I have to admit that though I like the idea of ‘threaded comments’, I don’t like the way most themes handle this feature (read I don’t like the way they look).

  2. Thanks for the advice, Francesca! The reason I like the idea of threaded comments is that all the other “chicks” are from LiveJournal, which has threaded comments, so I know they are comfortable with them. I’ll have to check out the codex.

    I’m going to do up a little “pros & cons” of each of the themes I try so that I can keep track of what’s what. 🙂

  3. Well, I see my gravatar isn’t working here. I’ll have to figure out how to get that going too. (Or, you could just tell me. 😉 )

  4. Don’t get me wrong, I like the idea of threaded comments (I think it can encourage conversation) and am comfortable with it, so much so that the feature is enabled on BenBratt.com. It’s just that I don’t like how threaded comments look in many themes and my inability to properly change theme stylesheets so that threaded comments look the way I wish is why I’m sticking with its current theme.

    Honestly, I have no clue on why my gravatar is working here while yours doesn’t, especially since I remember it worked here before you changed theme and I suppose it works in the other blogs you post comments on.

Leave a Reply

