The junk saga, part 1

So, about my Supernatural Unofficial Season 3 Companion?  Yeah.  I (finally) watched “The Magnificent Seven,” took notes, and… nada.  Yeah, I don’t think that project’s going anywhere.

However, as I always tend to do when work pisses me off, I have made yet another schedule of things to accomplish before I retire.   I believe I had previously mentioned (in a blog I have since deleted because it was corrupted) the mess my home is in.  And that last spring I hired an organizer to help me.  Well, I met with the organizer three times (once to assess, twice to clear out).  And then I stopped.  (They work for 4 continuous hours, and it’s very tiring, especially since I live on the top of a 4-story walk-up.)  But the time has come when I need to start getting things done if I’m ever going to get the place ready to sell by the time I retire.

So yesterday I made a schedule of rooms to attack, one room per month.  If I follow the schedule, I could get the place clutter-free by November.  But I know I’m not going to be able to get it accomplished on my own.  It’s time to call the organizer again.  I may even consider taking a couple days off per month to get things taken care of.

But before March begins, there are a couple rooms  I need to take care of:  the kitchen and dining room.  Both have been decluttered with the organizer, but I’m having trouble keeping them that way.  So, here’s the plan of attack for the next 10 days.

The kitchen—The problem is the kitchen needs (at least a little) work every day or is it gets away from me.  Plus, I have an electric outdoor grill I need to put together… and put outdoors.  And I have a couple appliances that need to go to the Goodwill.

The dining room—Ah, it was so nice and clean.  Then my computer crashed.  When I got it back from the repair shop, I’d already set up my new computer.  So the old computer went on the dining room table.  It’s still there.  I finally bought a backup drive.  I need to backup the computer, clean the hard drive, and list it on Freecycle.  (I’m not going to bother trying to sell it.)  I have absolutely no excuse for it to still be sitting on the dining room table… except my own laziness.

I’ll let you know how much progress I make on March 1st.

3 thoughts on “The junk saga, part 1

  1. The last time I did some serious decluttering was when I last moved (there’s nothing like moving to have people clear out). Now my home is in need of some decluttering, the problem is that what contributes most to the mess my home is in are books and dvds and these are things I know I can’t easily part with, if it is ever possible. So one of my new year’s resolutions was to learn to be more selective when it comes to buy books and dvds and to visit libraries more often than I visit bookshops.

    I hope you will find the inspiration to go on with your Supernatural companion.

    • Hey Francesca, thanks for the encouragement on writing the companion. If nothing else, it would certainly be a good writing exercise.

      And look! Threaded comments! Although I can’t take the credit for them here. They were added by the WordPress folks. (You can’t make many changes at .com for security reasons.)

      BUT, I also was able to get them put into the blog at gailoverholt.com. Nothing fancy like what you have, but it’s a start. Yay!

      • If you ever get around to writing your Supernatural companion and decide to make it available for others to read, I’ll read it. I love companions, especially if they are written by fans for fans.

        Threaded comments are truly a great idea. This was a feature that I love in forums and that I missed most in blogs. So cheers to WordPress for adding it.

        My father asked me if I can help him set a blog up to use for his activity as an advisor in the engineering field and I am thinking of getting him a blog with wordpress.com. Though I’m aware you can’t make many changes at .com, I know my father doesn’t want to be bothered with the technicalities involved in maintaining a self-hosted WP blog.

Leave a Reply

