Streamoc, here I come—eventually

I’d been thinking about registering the domain name “streamoc” for my blog for quite awhile.  I figured it’s a better domain name than blog.gailoverholt.com.  But I couldn’t decide between streamoc.net (since it’s not a commercial site) or streamoc.com (since .com is the more frequently used).  So I registered both.  And you know what?  I got a coupon for one of the domain names, so it only cost the same as registering one name.

I’m not going to set the domain name up just yet.  While the limitations of WordPress.com bother me at times, I really like the ability to find related posts.  (Yes, I know there are plugins that would allow me to do that on a stand-alone site, but I’m trying to get some other blog things taken care of first.)

I’m really glad I started reading Darren Rowse’s ProBlogger again.  He’s starting up another Blog challenge thingie (that’s the technical term for “31 Days to Build a Better Blog”), and I found out just in time, before the project actually begins.  It doesn’t start until April 6th, but I’ll be ready!  (Unless, of course, I forget about it between now and then.)

3 thoughts on “Streamoc, here I come—eventually

  1. I was trying to figure out where streamoc came from when my eye fell on the title of your blog and I guess it stands for stream of consciousness.

    I am thinking of starting a personal blog, too, but I don’t know if I will ever get around to actually doing so, as I have never been able to keep a journal in my life (in fact, I started a journal several times only to give up after few weeks) and I am at a loss even updating my facebook page. I think that this has partly to do with my being lazy and partly to my fear that nobody will be interested in what I have to say and I can imagine how I would self-censor too much trying to leave out of my blog what I think would be utterly uninteresting for others.

  2. Don’t be afraid to start a personal blog. You don’t have to update it every day (just as you don’t have to journal every day). And so what if no one reads it? I have only 2 readers, you and Natalie. 😀

  3. Pingback: I’ve moved « Stream of Conscience II

Leave a Reply

