100, 200, 634

I was thinking of a title for this post and couldn’t come up with anything good, so you get a bunch of numbers.

New month (sort of), new theme/design/layout.  I can’t change the header of this theme, so you won’t be seeing my stream and flowers photo.  But this almost-’50s-mod is kind of cute.

Speaking of themes, I’ll be moving my blog again back to a stand-along blog.  Not for a little while, though.  The reason?  I want more control of how I can shape the blog, design-wise.  And the blog will even have its own URL—streamoc (.com and .net).  Also, it’s pronounced “stream-oh-see,” not “streamock.”  Got it?  Good.  🙂

I finally got around to watching Love in the Time of Cholera.  The movie followed the book very closely.  I wasn’t all that enthralled with the book; and I wasn’t all that enthralled with the movie.  When you come right down to it, it’s about a man who can’t have the “love of his life” (whom he falls in love with at first sight), so he ends up having 634 meaningless affairs.  Well, maybe only 633;  he did care for one woman, but his actions caused her murder.  And I’ve had enough naked Javier Bardem to last a lifetime.

I do like the idea that love is timeless, but the way it’s portrayed in this  story is just cheap.

And to think Barney Stinson was celebrating his 200th conquest Monday’s How I Met Your Mother.

And finally, my heading says this is the 100th post here.  Actually, I have more than 100 posts, but I used an old draft to write this post, and it retained its old number.  Heh.  Sort of like Barney Stinson and his snafu with #200.  Confused?  Good.  My evil plan is working. 😉

One thought on “100, 200, 634

  1. I like this theme: simple, stylish and fresh is how I would describe it. It is a pity that you can’t change the header, though, as changing the header is the easiest way to customize a theme.

    I think I can understand what you mean when you say you like the freedom and control a stand-alone blog can give you over how I can shape a blog.

    “Love in the time of cholera.” I liked the book so little (just to give you an idea of how unenthralled I was by it, it took me exactly the same time to read LITC as The Lord of the Rings, which is a much longer book) that if it were not because of Benjamin Bratt being in it and my friends insisting I should see it, I would have never gone see the movie better. However, I must admit that I liked the movie better than the book.

    I agree that the way the idea that love is timeless is portrayed in this story is just cheap, but it is the style the novel was written it that was the problem for me (and it is a problem I have with most South-American authors)… They call Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s style ‘magical realism’, but I’d rather call it ‘patronizingly imaginative’ or ‘imaginatively patronizing’…

Leave a Reply

