It was bound to happen sometime

I got a pedicure this morning.  Now my toes are bright & shiny.  While at the salon (same as where I get my hair done), I was reading a People magazine (either this week’s or last’s) and it had a review of Jim Beaver’s Life’s That Way.  They gave it 4 (out of 4) stars.  (I don’t trust ratings at Amazon because they’re written by Supernatural fans, and we’ve learned they’re not always the most objective bunch of people. (But I still love ’em because I am one of them.)

Afterwards, I headed to the shopping center to buy an ink cartridge for my printer.  Picked up a few other things and then went to Target for some housewares.  After that, I popped into the the Dunkin Donuts/Baskin-Robin/Dunkin Deli place to get some lunch.  What a traumatic experience!  As I was stepping up to the counter (looking at the menu board), I tripped.  I looked down to see if I’d hit the counter.  Nope.  The little boy next to me had stepped in front of me.  His mom was sweet, apologizing and telling him that’s why he’s supposed to look where he’s going.  I didn’t say anything. (I was kind of annoyed, even though it was partly my fault).  While waiting for my sandwich I realized I should have been as gracious as the mother was.  On the way out the door, the sandwich bag slipped and as I tried to get a better hold on it, the door bumped the arm that held the soda, knocking the lid off and spilling about 1/3 of it.  (And of course there was someone right there to watch the whole thing.)

But that’s not all!  After I placed my order and gave the—what do you call them?  Clerk?  Attendent?  Counter girl?—$20, she asked me if I was a senior.  I said no, but then thought, seniors are defined differently at different places, so I asked what the age limit was.  She was so young, she didn’t know!  The manager came by and said it was 60.  And this just one day after a couple guys at work told me I looked better than the guys in charge, who are about 10 years younger than me.

2 thoughts on “It was bound to happen sometime

  1. Ha, if If I have to be honest, I don’t trust a critic’s review more than an ‘ordinary’ viewer’s/reader’s review of a movie/TV series/book, as I had to remark that critics are often not as objective as they should be and their views are not as prejudiced as those of fans but almost. I’ve even run into reviews by critics who had clearly not seen the movie they were reviewing.

    One of my greatest embarrassment was when I missed a step and fell down stairs in front of a group of people I had to interpret for. I ended up with a very sore ankle, but put a smile on my face and went on as nothing had happened.

  2. I just wanted to add that this morning I was reminded of how relative the concepts of young and old are, that it they change according to the age of the person speaking.

    I took a bus today and it happened to be one that goes near to a high school so there were a bunch of 15- to 18-year-olds referring to people aged 40 to 50 as old people. Well, I probably did the same when I was a teenager, as someone in their 40s was old enough to be my mother or father.

    Differently, my grandmother – who is 83 – refers to people in their 60s as young people.

Leave a Reply

