How I spent my summer vacation… er, hiatus.

The Supernatural season 4 finale has aired.  How am I going to pass the time until my favorite television show returns with new episodes in the fall?  Last year, traumatized by Dean being tortured in hell and all, I went back to the very beginning of the series and rewatched all the episodes.  I wanted to see if looking at them with fresh eyes opened up any new insights.  The answer was yes.   I saw nuances in the characters I’d not seen before, found several especially good performances.  Best of all, some of the episodes I’d thought were mediocre turned out to be quite excellent.

[Fellow Sci Fi Chick Suzanne also rewatched.  But she didn’t use the same tag for all reviews, so I can’t link to all her “Episode Reviews of Nostalgia.”]

This year, I want to do something different.  Awhile back, I’d noticed the lack of an Official Supernatural Season 3 Companion, so I thought I’d write an Unofficial Season 3 Companion.  However, shortly after making the announcement, the Official S3 Companion came out.  (I haven’t bought it yet.  Not sure I will.)

Now, the Official Season 4 Companion won’t be out for quite some time.  So my question is, do I go ahead with season 3, or should I move on to season 4?  Due to the Writers’ Strike, season 3 had only 16 episodes, so it’d be easier to tackle.  But it wasn’t a particularly good season.  (And the DVD set sucks.)  Season 4 was pretty damned awesome, but that’s not what I signed up for.  Oh the dilemma!  Which should I do?

You know what?  I think I’ve answered my own question.  Season 3 it is.  That way, I’ll see how good I am much I enjoy doing this without having to cover 22 episodes.  Besides, there might be some golden nuggets in season 3 that haven’t yet been discovered.

Leave a Reply

