Sign of the times

Since I’ve been laid up with the crud the last couple days, I started watching HGTV again during my waking hours.  I hadn’t watched the channel in quite a long time (somewhere between 5-10 years, I’d guess).  It’s interesting how the shows have changed in the past few years.  Nearly every show is about selling your home.  (I’m talking daytime here.)

Used to be Designed to Sell was the only show that prepped homes for the market.  It’s still there, but there’s also Get It Sold, The Unsellables, and a whole bunch of property and real estate shows.

Another difference:  in the olden days, every house featured on Designed to Sell sold quickly after the open house, usually for more than the asking price.  Now, every show ends with the seller saying “I’m confident I’ll have an offer in a couple weeks.”  I suppose it doesn’t help that every house featured is listed for at least $850,000.

If you’re not in the market to sell your house, there’s still the standard home decorating/renovation shows. There’s Divine Design, if money is no object.  Or something more up my alley, Design on a Dime.

3 thoughts on “Sign of the times

  1. I watched a lot of HGTV after I moved out on my own, because I didn’t own anything, was literally starting from scratch and didn’t know what I wanted. For the first 6 months, my couch was a giant throw pillow I got at Wal-Mart.

    I miss Room by Room. It had a lot of very beginner level practical advice, like how to choose colors and successfully mix patterns.

    There was also another show I liked that I can’t remember the name of that had a regular segment on how to redo a room without spending any money. A team would come in and rearrange the furniture, and maybe add something that had been in another room while removing other pieces. It was amazing how different a room could look just by moving stuff around in it.

    • Me too! I loved Room by Room! I wanted to ask Matt to marry me. 🙂 , and I know the other one you’re talking about (but can’t remember its name either). The painter from that series, a really pretty gal, is now on Colorsplash.

  2. I’m lucky enough to have a sisten-in-law who is an architect and very much interested in interior design, so she did wonders with Ikea furniture.

    As for TV programs, I could mention what’s on TV from 7 pm till midnight, but I have no idea what’s on TV during the daytime.

Leave a Reply

