TGIF

I started my new job today. (I’d actually planned to start Monday, but the people I needed to get with weren’t available. Then the crud hit for 3 days. So today was the real day of doing something “meaningful.”  You’ll see why the quotes in a moment.)

I wonder when I’m going to get any work done.  Here’s a list of meetings I attended today.

  • 9:00: Division standup. Go over what was discussed in the 8:00 meeting with the General.
  • 12:30: “Daily activity report” (DAR, because government loves acronyms) due to the guy who compiles it for the division, which will be discussed at the 3:00 meeting.
  • 2:00: Prepare for the 3:00 meeting.
  • 3:00: Go over what’s been done for the day.  Today’s meeting lasted for 2 hours, and I was told this was a good day.

These are the meetings we have every day.   I also had one at 10:00 and was supposed to have another at 1:00 to go over what was discussed at the 10:00 meeting.  But the guy the meeting was for never showed.  I get the impression he’s not the best time manager.

The good news is I now have a desk.  And it’s one of the nicer ones.   Not the one that gives you 25 square feet of desk space, two 12″ deep drawers and one 12″ deep file cabinet, a useless pull-out bookcase and a view of the other 60 or so people in the room.  And no place to hang your winter coat.  (I think it was built as a call center.  It really really sucks!)

Oh, and on my way home, I was rear ended.  Fuck.  (Actually thanks to the new bumpers, there was almost no discernible damage to either my or the other guy’s car—which was also a Subaru, but a little one.)   My neck is a little stiff, but honestly, that’s not all that unusual.  Still, I stopped at the drug store on the way home and picked up some heat pads for my neck and some wine to relax.  I took some Motrin and opened the wine, and plan for a wonderful Friday night of vegging out in front of the tv.

Only 94 weeks to retirement.

6 thoughts on “TGIF

  1. So, your job is going to meetings? And meetings about meetings? What is your actual work supposed to entail?

    Enjoy your relaxing evening of wine and TV. 🙂

    • Yes, meetings about meetings is nothing new with this organization. They were doing it even before I came to work for them.

      The relaxing backfired a bit. I’m hung over this morning. As well as a little sore.

  2. Going to meetings and interacting with others can be good.

    Anyway, you’re less than 2 years away from retirement.

    I calculated that in my case there are about 1,365 weeks to retirement.

    • Heh. The reason I’m counting weeks is because I still have too many days left. About 22 years ago, I remember thinking “I have only 30 years to retirement.” It will pass before you know it.

Leave a Reply

