NaBloPoMo

The “official” month of NaBloPoMo starts tomorrow. Actually, NaBloPoMo occurs every month, but November is the king-daddy of months.  I think it’s because it was created as an alternative to NaNoWriMo for those of us find writing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days rather daunting.

I thought about doing my daily blogging at Sci Fi Chick/s for NaBloPoMo, since that blog is probably of more interest to others.  But I’d mentioned I had a novel idea (heh) , and published author Natalie has encouraged me to pursue it.  I’ve also been thinking about trying to write a memoir of my parents, so maybe this will be a good place to get some thoughts down.

And who knows, maybe I’ll (finally) get around to posting some of the essays I wrote a couple summers ago.

4 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo

  1. How many pages would it be a 50,000 word nove? About 100? Hmm, writing 100 pages/50,000 words in a month should be doable, if you have a subject to write about and the right inspiration and having a deadline might help focusing (it works in my case).

    However, I guess that NaBloPoMo is a better starting point to put one’s writing skills and ability to write following a schedule to the test.

    BTW, I would be curious to read your novel and your memoir of your parents, Gail. If you ever get down to writing them, count me among your readers.

    • The problem is, I don’t really have a plot to the novel. All I have right now are characters. I’m much better are writing non-fiction.

  2. Though a novel can be character-driven (The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber is an example of character-driven novel and it is over 800 pages long) rather than plot-driven, I can see your point. I guess you should wait till ideas for a plot comes to you.

    BTW, in spite of my loving to read literature, I’m much better at writing non-fiction, too, and I would have made a better reporter or essayist than novel/short story writer.

Leave a Reply

