Three for one

It’s  a new month, a new week, and a new time zone.

Last Sunday I woke up around 7:30 feeling terrific.  Wow, I could get a lot accomplished in the morning.  Then it dawned on me.  My alarm clock had set itself back to standard time.  So it was really around 9:00 by the time I figured this out.

I bought this cool alarm clock/radio/cd player a few years ago.  It has a little chip in it that keeps track of the time, even when the power’s out.  So when the power’s restored, I never need to reset it.  And, it self adjusts for daylight savings time.  Or rather, it did before Congress decided to change DST start and end dates.  So now, instead of never having to reset my clock, I have to change it four times a year.  At least this year I realized I could simply change the time zone, rather than the time itself.  Much easier.  But still, it’s the principle of the thing.

And of course, it’s the beginning of NaBloPoMo.  So, instead of working on a blog post this morning, I passed the time creating my own little NaBloPoMo badge.

It’s been one of those morning’s that my dad always longed for on Saturday; to wake up and hear it gently raining.  Then he could just lie in bed and listen, perhaps drifting off to sleep again.  He said it didn’t work for Sunday, because he had to get up and go to church.  But our church service never started until 10:30, so I don’t know how late he was planning on sleeping.

The rain has made the birds very happy.  They’ve been chirping all morning, thoroughly entertaining the cats.

4 thoughts on “Three for one

  1. I love your badge!

    And I’m sorry, but I find it very amusing that your clock still keeps messing you up, even after all these years. Since it only happens twice a year, it’s not illogical that you’d forget that it does it. But it’s still funny.

    Thank goodness it happens on Sunday!

    • I can’t change he internal workings of the clock. The only way I could fix it is to buy a new one. Besides, I get a lot of mileage out of the story! 😀

  2. Imagine that my boiler clock is refusing to be set back to standard time (it must like DST 😉 ), so I had to program it so that I still get heating is turned on and off as I want it to but taking it into account that it works on a clock that is running ahead.

    Love your badge, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

