Life is good, yesterday

Ah yesterday.  I found the coffee mess at work.  And the candy dish!  What more could I ask for?

How about a job where I don’t have to work shifts?  Nah, that’d be too much to ask for.  Especially from an organization that doesn’t give a shit about me.

I saw the gal I’m going to be working for today.  (I remember when I was her teacher.  *sigh*  I don’t begrudge her, she’s good.  But I feel a little blue for me.)  She said she’s been spending all her time on the organization chart.  She pulled it out for me and said I was slated to be a “battle captain,” which means a shift worker.  Granted, it’s the boss of the shift workers, but it’s still fucking shift work.  I told her I can’t do shift work because of my age and heart condition.  She said I’d have to take that up with P.G.  (I wouldn’t mind giving his name, but I’ll try to be “nice” about this.)  I told her I already had.  I then gave her a knowing look and she understood.

When I told P.G. about my concerns being a battle captain, he “understood” and said it wasn’t a “good fit,” mainly because of my seniority.  But I’ve worked with this guy before and I know he’s a fucking snake in the grass and I can’t believe a goddamn word he says.  Obviously, this just proves it.

Actually, I’m a lot more ok than my bitching and cursing indicate, mainly because 1) I sort of expected it, and 2) I have options.  Not great options, but at least something.

And it’s Supernatural night.  And even though it’s a rerun, it’s a great episode, even if it’s a little short on Jared Padalecki.  (Ha! “Short” and “Jared Padalecki” used in the same sentence!  That’s gotta be a first.  😀  Sometimes I amuse myself greatly.)

2 thoughts on “Life is good, yesterday

  1. It is incredible how little understanding employers can show towards their employees’ needs. My cousin shouldn’t do shifts because she has a 14-month-old daughter (and women with children under 3 years of age can’t do shifts here), but guess what? She has to do shifts…

    • Yeah, I’m feeling a little bluer about it today. But worrying never changed the outcome of anything, so I’m just going to try to keep moving forward.

Leave a Reply

