Snow Day!

I have tomorrow off.  Again!  Hee!  After the blizzard of ’09 (also on a Saturday), the Federal Government was closed on Monday.  I just tried to check the OPM website (Office of Personnel Management, who makes the decision for the Feds) to see what the status was, and the server keeps timing out.  I’m sure it’s because everyone else is trying to check it, too.

So if I can’t get to the server, how do I know?   I checked the local “news, weather, and traffic” radio station and they show all the closings and delays.  I think there are two reasons for the closure.  One is that Metro’s (DC’s “subway” system) above ground tracks are still closed.   (“Above ground rails” is why “subway” is in quotes.)  The other is many roads are still in poor shape.  So it’s better for us to stay off the streets until they can get everything treated.

Total accumulation was over 2 feet.  And that’s about how much was on the car.  (Not as much drifting this time.)  But apparently the record is something like 28″, so we didn’t break it.

I turned on Puppy Bowl VI this afternoon and caught the “Kitty Halftime Show.”  It was a bunch of kittens playing with kitten toys.  With strobe lights.  I recognized a few of the toys, because I have them.  They’ve really expanded the Puppy Bowl.  They’ve had the waterbowl cam for a couple years.  Now they have the Twizzler blimp, manned by a bunch of hamsters.  cheerleader rabbits, spectator dogs, and a (human) referee.  In fact, one puppy was penalized for tail biting, and another was thrown out for unnecessary roughness.  Gosh, I wish I worked for the Animal Planet channel.

3 thoughts on “Snow Day!

  1. Ah, I remember that when I was in 9th grade, schools closed 4 days after a blizzard. My classmates and I never loved snow so much.

  2. 4 seems to be the lucky number. This is the 4th day the govt is closed. When I was in the 4th grade, we had so many snow days, we ran had to go to school on Saturday to make up for them. I really hated that!

  3. Luckily, we didn’t have to go to school 4 extra days to make up for those we missed because of the snow, as though school years must be 200 days in Italy, school district often manage to make them last about 210 days, so there is room for schools to unexpectedly close for a few days.

    BTW, it is normal in Italy to go to school on Saturdays. However, school days usually go from 8 am to 1 pm.

Leave a Reply

