Cabin fever tv

Instead of using my snow days to get housework and laundry done, I’ve been watching Bravo’s afternoon line up of reality shows.  It’s like watching a train wreck.  I know it’s awful, but I can’t stop looking at it.

It all started Tuesday with Millionaire Matchmaker.  While Patti Spangler, the matchmaker, has some good insights into what makes a romance work, her own defensiveness causes her to treat some of her clients abysmally.   It’s almost a lesson in how to alienate people rather than getting them to open up.  Then again, she’s not a therapist.

Next came The Real Housewives of Orange County.  Heh, I can’t tell them apart, except for Laurie, the only brunette, and Vicky, who’s not as svelte as the others.  The other three all look alike.  Guess they go to the same plastic surgeon.

Then I watched Kell on Earth, the off-shoot of The Hills (which I’ve never seen).  The show follows Kelly Cutrone, a fashion show coordinator and her staff as they coordinate… uh, fashion shows.  Maybe they coordinate other things, too, but so far the series has focused on Bryant Park.   The incompetence of the staff in a high profile profession is truly amazing.  Then again, grunt work is done by interns, who I believe work for free (as a way to get a step into the fashion industry).  You know the old saying, you get what you pay for?  This is a prime example.

And yesterday I tuned into Tabatha’s Salon Makeover.  Actually, it’s pretty good.  I think anyone running a business could learn a thing or two.

My Bravo afternoons may be over, though.  My guess is the Fed government will be open tomorrow, but with what they call “liberal leave.”  I’m not sure if I’ll go in (if we’re open).  I’m starting to knot up from the shoveling I did.  And I banged my knee pretty hard.   I have no idea how we’ll handle those two big meetings we’d had scheduled.  I guess Mother Nature out-ranks a 3-star general.  🙂

Leave a Reply

