Boogers!

The last two months have so crazy busy at work, I decided to take a week off because 1) I needed to decompress, and 2) to get a few of those nagging little things done, like car maintenance and a/c checkup.  But I procrastinated too long and couldn’t get some of the stuff scheduled.  I did get the a/c taken care of, and a couple other things, including catching up on some of my email.

Only to find out my website had been deactivated.  Someone hacked it and put a bunch of virus/malware on it.  I tried going through the site to take out the bad files, but some of the good files are infected too (which I guess makes them bad files, huh?).  So I told the hosting company to just wipe it clean and I’ll start anew.  Turns out the probable reason the site  got hacked is that I had a bunch of WordPress installations that I hadn’t updated since I’ve been here at WordPress.com.

I still go back and forth, trying to decide which is the better blogging venue, here or a stand-alone version at my website.  For now, it’s here.  I guess. But I’m once again leaning towards going back to the stand-alone site.  It’s all about the themes (layout, for those of you who don’t speak WordPress).  I don’t like being at the mercy of other people’s designs.  Of course, I could just fork over the $10 a year and create my own WP.com theme.

I’m going to look at this as a blessing.  It’s probably time I got back to doing web stuff and stopped playing computer games.  At least with web playing I’m learning something.

7 thoughts on “Boogers!

  1. Pingback: What I’m watching now « SciFi Chick/s

    • Thank you! I’m going to try to be more regular in my posting. (Goal is at least once per week.) Oh, and…

      HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY! 😀

  2. Welcome back, Gail! I hope you managed to decompress. 🙂

    Personally, I’m trying to learn Joomla! (my brother set up our family web page with it), I’ll let you know if I’ll manage to make sense of it.

    • Oh, please do let me know how your Joomla training goes! I’ve looked at it (and other CMS programs) but have been daunted. Using it to create a family website is a great idea! Definitely let me know how it goes. 🙂

      • From what I could see so far, it is fairly easy to get the hang of Joomla!, especially if you’ve got some experience with WordPress.

        I think Joomla! is a handy tool to create simple web sites quickly and it make it easy to update/add contents to them.

Leave a Reply

