Mind over weather

***Think winter***
***Think snow***
***Think shoveling***
***Think… ***


Think snow!

Remember when?

Ok, I feel a little better.

Damn, it’s hot!  It’s been one of the hottest summers I can remember.  And whenever it approaches (or reaches, or exceeds) 100 degrees, it seems I’m always having to run around outside.  Which is not helping my stress level.

I’ve been “in-processing” this past week.  Still doing the job I’ve been doing since April, but now I’m officially in the position.  Lots of paperwork and footwork (amazingly, Air Force Human Resources is still in the dark ages of paper and pen).  Another one of those horrid weeks like we had in March, this time with less than half the staff I had (I was at work until 10:30 pm last Thur—and I start at 8:00 am).  All on top of the uncertainty of the job moving north.  We’re told to we have to move this coming Friday, but we still don’t have any place to work.  I’m very tempted to let all the stuff we do just drop by the way-side.  Maybe then someone will put  emphasis on getting desks for us.  Who am I kidding?  That person will most likely be me.

Gosh, that sounds kind of conceited, doesn’t it?  But honestly, I’m not!  I’ve just come to learn over the years that I’m not as incompetent as I used to think I was.  At least my job makes me feel useful.

The kitties are all stretched out trying to stay cool.  Even Gigi, the only one with short hair.

Epilogue:  Hey!  It looks like a cold front is coming through!  The sky has darkened, the wind is blowing, and it’s raining.  Yay!

5 thoughts on “Mind over weather

  1. Thanks for the refreshing pic! It’s been so hot and humid here, too,(when it’s not pouring rain) that I needed a cool shot like that. Although I’d rather not think about shoveling. ;D Looks like the weather is going to relent for RAGBRAI this week, however, which is good for the riders. Yay for you getting a break in the heat, too!

    Good luck getting desks. I can see how that would make your job more difficult.

  2. Thanks for the pic, Gail! It is good to be reminded of very cold and snowy winter days when it is hot.

    However, it is about 80° over here in northern Italy and it is an agreeable temperature.

    • You know, I don’t remember ever being particularly hot in Italy, and that’s without air conditioning. Of course, I worked in a building with mainframe computers, so it was always cold. When I was still living in a hotel (before I found a place to live), I’d come home and have dinner with some of the other hotel folks. They’d talk about how hot it had been that day, and all I could think was “Hot? I had my jacket on the whole day.” 🙂

      • Well, I guess it depends on where you lived in Italy.

        There are places in Italy where you don’t need air conditioning in the summer and winters are not long: I’m thinking of central Italy and places near the sea. I live in the Po Valley, about 150 miles away from the sea, where high humidity makes Summers and winters particularly undomfrotable. 😦

Leave a Reply

