Well, lookie here.

I started this post about 2 weeks ago:

This coming week is going to be a rough one.  I begin my new, longer commute tomorrow.  The few times I’ve driven it for the day, I’ve been very tired when I get home.  Now it’s going to multiplied by 5.  And, the boss is taking the week off! Yikes!  I’m going to be held accountable.  I’m not going to be able to schlep into work late.

Well, it was indeed the week from hell.  I had not one, but two one-on-one sessions with two different generals.  When the boss came back this past Monday, I told him he was never allowed to go on leave ever again.

The hours are significantly longer.  I work 10-11 hour days—and then there’s the commute.  Most nights I don’t even bother turning on the computer.  Last weekend I was totally wiped out.  At least this weekend I have a little pep.

Last weekend I stopped by the library and got a couple “books on tape.”  Right now I’m listening to My Man Jeeves, which is a series of short stories by P.G. Wodehouse.  The stories are supposed to be about Bertie Wooster and his all-knowing butler Jeeves, but the last few stories I’ve listened to have been about Reggie Pepper.  I cry “Foul!” or at least “False advertising!” as I find the Bertie & Jeeves stories much more interesting than the Reggie stories.  Although Reggie’s “Rallying Round Old George” is pretty entertaining.

Wooster & Jeeves

(photo shamelessly taken from Amazon)

Several years ago, PBS had a tv series about Bertie and Jeeves that was quite fun.  At the time, I knew of the actor who played Jeeves, but not the guy who played Bertie.   I just looked it up on Amazon and what do I find?  Jeeves and Wooster (as the series was called) starred Stephen Fry as Jeeves (and darned if I know how I knew him, unless it was from A Fish Called Wanda) and, as Bertie?  Hugh Laurie!  Good Lord, how old was he then?  Well, I think Bertie was somewhere in his mid-twenties, and the series wasn’t as old as I’d thought.  So  guess it makes sense that Laurie now plays a mid-late 40-ish doctor.

Gosh, you never know what you’ll find on the interwebz.

10 thoughts on “Well, lookie here.

  1. Ouch, it must be hard to work 10/11 hours a day and have a longer commute on top of it. Hope yoou’ll be able to work as many hours a day for long, Gail.

    I didn’t know that PG Woodhouse’s short stories about Jeeves and Wooster were made into a TV series. Much as I’d like to watch it (I loved the PG Woodhouse’s stories), I guess I couldn’t help thinking of Dr. House whenever Bertie comes on screen though.

    • I say give Jeeves and Wooster a try. Bertie and House are so different you might not make the connection. I mean, after all, House doesn’t have a British accent. Haha! 😀

      • To be honest, I was surprised when I learnt that Hugh Laurie is actually British, not American, because his American accent is really convincing. 🙂

        • There are a huge number of British (& Australian) actors on American tv with American accents. The fellow that played the last ADA on Law & Order, the mother in Terminator: the Sarah Connor Chronicles, and Craig Horner (whose voice I loved until I heard him speak in his “native” Australian) from Legend of the Seeker. And those are just the ones I can remember. I know there’s a bunch more.

          I saw Emma Thompson on The Daily Show a week or so ago. She actually did a couple of different American dialects. 🙂 (The reason she did them was hilarious.)

          • I forgot about Linus Roache as Michael Cutter in L&O and, yes, he’s good, too, at speaking with an American accent.

            I guess that what impressed me about Hugh Laurie and Linus Roache is that they never slip back to their native accent, while other British actors do (the actor who played Mr Fantastic in the two FF movies is the first that springs to my mind).

  2. There’s another British series Fry and Laurie were in that you might like–Blackadder. It’s historical comedy, of all things, but hilarious. Rowan Atkinson was actually the star, as the scheming scoundrel Blackadder, but Fry and Laurie are priceless as various bumblers who constantly, and unintentionally, confound his plans. The first season is set in the Elizabethan era, and each season moves forward in time until World War I. I highly recommend it. 🙂 Sounds like you could use a few good laughs during your precious downtime.

    • Looks like I’ll have to add Blackadder to my NetFlix list. I’ve seen the name when flipping through the cable guide, but never knew what it was. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

