What the hell???

I have 2 weather gauges on my desktop; one for Alexandria, VA, where I live, and one for Clear Lake, IA, where I (possibly) want to live.  For the last couple weeks, the Clear Lake gauge says it’s been in the 80’s, while we’ve been in the 50’s and 60’s.  This might not sound all that crazy, except that Clear Lake is in Northern Iowa (almost Minnesota) and I’m in the mid-Atlantic (almost The South).

And now, this morning, I log on to see that it’s 54 degrees at 9 a.m. here, and 61 degrees there… at 8 a.m!  I say again, Clear Lake is in NORTHERN Iowa.  How can it be consistently warmer there than here?  Especially this time of year?

I began to suspect the temperature gauges (courtesy of Windows gizmos) is broken.  This morning just confirmed it.  So I log onto AccuWeather.  And what do I find?

It’s warmer in Northern Iowa earlier in the morning than it is here in the mid-Atlantic!

That’s jacked!

5 thoughts on “What the hell???

  1. Heh, heh, heh. Yep, we’ve had quite the Indian summer going on here. I’ve worn a light jacket to work in the mornings all week, but I carry it home, because it’s 80 to 85 degrees. Believe me, we’re enjoying it thoroughly. Just yesterday I glanced outside expecting typical October cool, overcast skies, and was yet again surprised by all the sun. Downside–there’s been a fair amount of wind with the heat, and several field fires. Still, I think I picked an awesome time to take a couple weeks off. 😀

    • þ
      Well, at least things are back to normal (more or less) now. At least it’s been a great motivator to return to Iowa. I’m really ready for the simpler life. I just wish my house was. (I’ll write more on that later.)

  2. Hmm, sounds like when I went on a trip to London, UK, in December and discovered it was warmer there than where I live, though my home town is about 700 miles south of London, UK.

  3. Don’t let London fool ya! I was there one winter when they had one of their worst winters ever. That, plus Desert Storm was in gear (not sure it was really “full swing” though). Had my choice of airplane seats, we got into the (original) Hard Rock Cafe with no wait, and when I returned (also went to Germany in the same trip–it was for work) my briefcase had no less than four security stickers on it. I think I kept them on until the briefcase wore out. 🙂

    (Oops, that was supposed to be in reply to you, Francesca.)

    • Actually, I live in a part of Italy where the climate is not really the best you can wish for, with very warm and humid summers and very cold and foggy winters, and I live 40 miles away from the city that is supposedly the coldest in Italy in wintertime.

Leave a Reply

