Sunday Seven Reborn

I figure if I want a meme to catch on, I should post it regularly, n’est pas?  So let’s try this again.

For the past few years I’ve hosted a “Supernatural March Madness Tournament of Episodes.”  I decided not to do one this year, not because I’d lost interest in the show, but because the winner was the same every year.  That episode was the powerful season 2 opener, “In My Time of Dying.”  It forever changed the landscape of Supernatural, but even in and of itself, it was an incredible, beautifully filmed ride.

In place of the tournament, I thought I’d revisit the last Elite Eight and give honorable mention to the runners-up.  I’ve listed them in reverse order of my personal liking.

Looking for the Elite 7

Hmm, let’s see what Gail thinks of the Elite 7.

  • “Changing Channels.”  Not one of my favorites.  I was surprised it made it to the Elite Eight.  It was supposed to be one of the bi-yearly humorous episodes, and it was (sort of), up until the anvil-falling-on-your-head ending.  But as humorous episodes with anvil-ish endings go, I’ll take “It’s a Terrible Life.”
  • “On the Head of a Pin.”  Oops.  I had this episode mixed up with the one where we met Jimmy, the trench-coated accountant from (Indiana?)  who become the vessel for fan-favorite angel Castiel.    But it’s actually the episode where Dean learns he broke the first of (66?) seals to bring about Armageddon.  Maybe I blocked the episode out because we discovered Sam drinks demon blood.  Yuck!
  • “The Monster at the End of this Book.”  Another funny-at-the-beginning-ominous-at-the-end episode.  It  included my most very favorite scene from season 4,  “I’m sitting in a laundromat reading about myself sitting in a laundromat reading about myself.  My head hurts.”  And, “I can’t see your face, but those are definitely your brooding and pensive shoulders.”
  • “Mystery Spot.”  A very emotional homage to Groundhog Day.  How many ways can you kill a Winchester?  I lost count.  Plus a tour-de-force forJared Padalecki.
  • “The End.”  A tour-de-force for Jensen Ackles.  I ranked “The End” above “Mystery Spot” only because it includes my all-time favorite rock-and-roll song, “Do You Love Me?” by the Contours.  (Sorry, I just had to link to that!)
  • “Lazarus Rising.”  The season 4 opener is the reason I bought a wide-screen tv.  How was Dean going to get out of hell?  While the tv let me down a bit (I thought I bought 120Hz, but it’s only 60Hz), the episode far exceeded my exceptions.  And my expectations were pretty high!
  • “What Is and What Should Never Be.”  My personal all-time favorite episode ever.  It was perfect.  Both actors were outstanding in roles that were a bit off-kilter for them.  Dean’s grave-side conversation with his father was heart-wrenching.  (Jensen Ackles should have submitted this as his Emmy reel instead of All Hell Breaks Loose, Part 2.  Dean’s agony was more subtly shown, and Jensen nailed it—as he does most everything).

Your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Sunday Seven Reborn

  1. I can see why you decided against the tournament this year. You’d have to take “In My Time of Dying” out of contention altogether to make it at all suspenseful.
    All those episodes were deservedly in the top eight. And they really are indicative of the different things the show tries, and typically does very well. I have to disagree with you on “Changing Channels”, though. One of my absolute faves, and it edged out “Bad Day at Black Rock” as my favorite comedic episode, which I thought was nigh impossible! Plus, it had the Trickster/Gabriel, who is my all time favorite guest character.
    Interestingly enough, I notice most of this Elite Eight are from Season Four. Arguably the show’s best season. (Despite the fact the Dean Angst got a little old for me from time to time). 🙂

    • I thought of you as I was writing my comments on “Changing Channels.” I knew it was one of your favorites. 🙂 I didn’t like that the Trickster turned out to be Gabriel. For me, the angel stuff was getting heavy handed and this was just one more indication.

      Interesting about most of the shows being from season 4. I think it was probably the best season for many fans, and was possibly the most pivotal. But for me, my favorite was season 2. I’m not sure why. Maybe I just liked more of the episodes.

Leave a Reply

