So, I bought this CD…

Lionel Richie’s Tuskegee, “duets with today’s hottest country stars.”  (At least that’s how HSN marketed it.)

Lionel Richie's Tuskegee album cover

The album cover from Lionel Richie's Tuskegee, a terrific album if I do say so myself.

I’m not a huge Lionel Richie or country music fan.  I don’t hate them, but I wouldn’t put either in my top 10 favorites.  Nonetheless, I watched his mini-concert on HSN (it was Friday and there was nothing else to do), and I really enjoyed it.  He didn’t have any of his duet partners (except Kenny Rogers), but he’d talk about the recording session, and then sing the song in their style.  Pretty cool!

I wasn’t going to buy the CD until he talked about doing “Endless Love” with Shania Twain.  Apparently she hasn’t sung in 8 years, and it took a lot of coaxing her.  Then they played a clip of the song, and her voice was so clear and lovely, I decided to buy it.

It.  Is.  Awesome!  There’s only one song I’d never heard before (“Just for You,” with Billy Currington), and I love it.  The rest are all songs we grew up with, but have a new, modern twist.  There’s great guitar work (especially “You Are,” with Blake Shelton), a variety of beautiful voices and harmony, and a samba beat to “All Night Long.”  Ok, it’s probably more of a Caribbean beat since it’s done with Jimmy Buffet and the Coral Reefer Band, but I could totally see doing a samba to it.

Richie said people kept asking, “When did you go country?”  and his reply was “I grew up country.”  Tuskegee is his hometown, so the album is sort of dedicated to his roots.  (At least that’s what I think.)

How much do I like the album?  I finally replaced the soundtrack from How to Train Your Dragon in my car .  And we all know how I feel about the How to Train Your Dragon soundtrack.  I’d been listening to for months!

3 thoughts on “So, I bought this CD…

  1. Great endorsement! I’ll have to give him a listen. My husband was channel surfing the day he was on TV, singing with Kenny Rogers, and I had to pause for a nostalgic moment. 🙂 I don’t like country music, except when I do, and his song choices are a lot of the ones I do! 🙂

    • Natalie! I was was cleaning out my nightstand (like 5 minutes ago) and found Indulgence. I think of you often, but haven’t been good at following Supernatural Sisters or anything else. Ooh! Now that I see Soul of the Dragon on WordPress.com, I’m there!

      I’m trying to get into a good schedule, but I keep getting sidetracked, mostly by the tv. Then there are days like today when I didn’t wake up until 11:30. *hangs head in shame* (But in my defense I didn’t sleep well last night.)

      It’s so good to hear from you! 😀

      • That’s so funny! I love coincidences like that.

        I think about you, too, though I haven’t been on the ‘net very much at all, except in very defined spaces. I’m trying to get back to the connections I’ve neglected.

        You’ve also inspired me to start doing something with the Soul of the Dragon blog, which has been dormant forever and I didn’t think it was visible but now two people are following it, so maybe I’ll start posting scenes!

        You get to sleep until 11:30! OMG! That means you’re retired! Yay!!!! I’m so jealous. If I could, I’d totally sleep from 3:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. every day. LOL

Leave a Reply

