The Gray Age

I got my hair cut yesterday.  No big deal, I know.  But this was the first time in many years that I didn’t get it colored as well.

Several years ago I decided  would “go gray” when I turned 50.  An over-50 coworker told me that wouldn’t happen.  It didn’t.  I then decided I’d go gray when I retired.  Now that I am retired, perhaps it’s time to embrace my age.

In my lifetime I’ve had may hair colors, going from baby blond to toddler red, eventually growing into a mousy brown.  I started coloring my hair 30 years ago, at the urging of my best friend.  First it was just highlights but grew into something more, especially as the gray hair became more abundant.  Over the years, I’ve been many shades on the Goldwell color chart.  My hair stylist says I have a complexion that looks good in anything.  And now she says I’ll look good with silver hair.

I don’t know.  She cut the hair in a cute style, but now it’s much lighter.  (Not all the color has grown out or faded, so  it’s not a drastic change.  Yet.)  I left the salon not feeling ecstatic.  I like looking about 10 years younger than I really am.  The gray will likely age me, and I’m not sure I’m ready for it.

I know I shouldn’t complain about aging.  After all, consider the alternative.

6 thoughts on “The Gray Age

  1. I started coloring my hair when I was 18. First it was just highlights for me, too, but I soon ended up blonde. At 26 I decided to go back to my natural brown hair and swore I would never get my hair colored again and I would let it grow grey and then white when the time came. However, I got my hair colored two weeks ago to cover the white hair that started to show. 😦

    • Don’t feel bad about coloring your hair! And don’t feel bad about the white either. See Rita’s comments below. “Wisdom highlights.” Hee.

  2. Pingback: It’s beginning to look a little like Christmas! | Stream of Conscience

Leave a Reply

