It’s beginning to look a little like Christmas!

It’s snowing at WordPress.com!  To show it off, I’ve gone to the black background for a little while.

In Alexandria, VA, it’s a bit dreary and is spritzing off and on.  This is important because I finally “renewed” my driver’s license.  Which means a picture.  I told the fellow who took it that my last 2 pictures were quite good (I’m not photogenic), so the pressure was on.  He said it turned out good, but I haven’t seen it yet, so the jury’s still out.  (VA no longer issues drivers’ licenses in person.)  It will likely be quite a shock since I got my hair cut yesterday, and even more color was cut off.  It’s really light.  Maybe I’ll just pretend it’s platinum blond.

To celebrate, I made my yearly trek to the liquor store for my yearly bottle of  scotch—Johnny Walker Red.  I’m secure enough in my scotch drinking that I don’t have to pretend to prefer single malt.  Besides, it’s a much more Christmasy color.  The store also had Old Overholt, which I was tempted to buy just for the name.  But I resisted.

And since it was a soup kind of day, I stopped at Panera for lunch—”grown-up” grilled cheese and tomato soup.  To quote Sam Winchester in the case of the meadowsweet Christmas wreath, “It was yummy.”

5 thoughts on “It’s beginning to look a little like Christmas!

  1. What does it mean that VA no longer issues drivers’ licenses in person? I’m trying to figure out the process… As for pictures, I think those small pictures going on every official paper (IDs, passports, drivers’ licenses, etc.) usually don’t do justice to people and they remind me of mugshots taken when one is arrested…
    Since we are almost there, Merry Christmas and Happy 2013!!!

    • They give you a temporary license (piece of paper) and mail the real one to you. It has to do with security, but I really don’t understand it. And yes, driver’s license pictures are usually the worst, that’s why it’s so unusual my last two were pretty good. Like campfirememories said below, they don’t let you smile with your mouth open. But since I always smile with my lips together (after some bad dental work), that was ok. Oh, and now apparently the pics are in black and white, not color. Weird.

      And Merry Christmas to you! (I was going to wish it in Italian, but I’ve forgotten what it is! All I can think of is French and Spanish.) 😦

    • Thanks! Same to you. Are you in VA? I know you have history in MI, as do I (grad school at MSU). One of my goals for 2013 is to read more, and your website is very inspirational. Thanks for that, too. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Resolutions, Schmesolutions « Ms. Pack Brat

Leave a Reply

